Yorkes Classic 2021
Published on 24/08/2021

Yorkes Classic 2021 champions were crowned in powerful clean waves at the iconic Chinaman’s surf break in the Innes National Park on the Yorke Peninsula over the weekend. Offshore winds combined with a South Westerly groundswell provided perfect 3-4 slaby surf all weekend long, with a high standard of surfing on display across all divisions.

Digby Tooze (Corny Point) and Skye Faddy (Glenelg) were unbeatable winning all their heats convincingly finally taking out the Men’s and Women’s divisions respectively.

Junior star Corey Taylor (Marion Bay) took the Junior Title and also placed 3rd in the Men’s division showing he is a force to be reckoned with in future and it is only a matter of time untill he follows in his father “Squizzy” Taylor’s footsteps and takes a coveted Yorkes Classic men’s surfing title.

The Yorkes Classic is South Australia’s most prestigious and iconic surfing event. Originally started way back in 1983 by local surfers the event always delivers great surf in the spectacular surf region of lower Yorke Peninsula.

We would like to thank all the sponsors, spectators, the local community, Innes National Park, the Yorke Peninsula Council and Surfing South Australia for their support and look forward to seeing everyone next year.


The Ding King Men:

1st Digby Tooze

2nd Todd Goudie 

=3rd Luke Sykora

=3rd Corey Taylor

Mens State Title: Digby Tooze

Extreme Boardriders Women

1st Skye Faddy

2nd Poppy Sweetman

=3rd Imogen Elliott

=3rd Meg Day

Women’s State Title: Poppy Sweetman

Neptune’s Surf Coaching Juniors

1st Corey Taylor

2nd Indi DeBono

3rd Leo Torok 

4th Koby Philip

Christine Cox Memorial: Jenelle Tooze

Spirit of Yorkes Award: Marc Sullivan

Shaun Gray Charge Award: Skye Faddy

Judges Award Best Wipeout: Tia Taite

Judges Award for Charging: Meg Day

All images: Andy Smyth

You may also like….

Vale Khai Cowley

Vale Khai Cowley

After the devastating news that one of our Grom surfers, Khai, was involved in a fatal incident at Ethel Beach on December 28th we have been...

read more