Yorkes Classic 2023

Published on 21/08/2023

“Yorkes Classic 2023 champions were crowned amidst powerful, clean waves at the iconic Chinaman’s surf break in Innes National Park on the Yorke Peninsula over the weekend. This year’s 40th-anniversary celebrations did not disappoint, as light onshore winds combined with a southwesterly groundswell provided perfect 3-foot slabby surf all day long. The event showcased a high standard of surfing across all divisions.

One of the highlights of the event was witnessing the legendary Yorkes surfer, Brian “Squizzy Taylor,” make it to the final and surf against his son, Corey Taylor, along with Matt Shorten and Luke Sykora.

Local surfer Luke Sykora from Marion Bay clinched the Men’s title. “I first attended a Yorkes Classic when I was ten years old, and since then, my goal has been to win this event. After many close attempts, I have finally achieved it, and I am stoked,” said Luke. Poppy Sweetman from Middleton secured the women’s title for the second time. Both Poppy and Luke are now the South Australian State Title winners for 2023, securing them a slot to compete at the Australian Surfing Championships in 2024.

Junior surfer Indi DeBono from Middleton claimed the Junior Title in a closely contested final. Leo Torok from Middleton secured the second place, with King Cairns from Port Noarlunga in third and Bailey Torok from Middleton in fourth.

The Yorkes Classic stands as South Australia’s most prestigious and iconic surfing event. Originally started in 1983 by local surfers, the event consistently delivers excellent surf in the spectacular surf region of the lower Yorke Peninsula.

The presentations and 40th-year celebrations were held at the Stenhouse Bay Hall as part of the Grounded YP Art Festival, supported by the Yorke Peninsula Council. The local band, The Swamp Donkeys, kept the crowd of 150-plus revelers entertained late into the evening.

We would like to express our gratitude to all the sponsors, particularly the major sponsors – The Ding King, Extreme Boardriders, and Neptune’s Surf School, the spectators, the local community, Innes National Park, and the Yorke Peninsula Council for their support. We look forward to seeing everyone again next year.


The Ding King Men:

1st Luke Sykora

2nd Corey Taylor

3rd Matt Shorten

4th Brian Taylor

Extreme Boardriders Women:

1st Poppy Sweetman

2nd Meg Day

3rd Keira Hunt

4th Annabel Greenleaf

Neptune’s Surf Coaching Juniors:

1st Indi DeBono

2nd Leo Torok

3rd King Cairns

4th Bailey Torok


  • Spirit of Yorkes Award:
  • Shaun Gray Charge Award:
  • Judges Award Best Wipeout: Allegra Correti

All images: Andy Smyth”


Other News

2024 Southern Surf Festival a Huge Success

2024 Southern Surf Festival a Huge Success

The Southern Surf Festival made a stunning return to Middleton Point at the weekend, drawing massive crowds across Saturday and Sunday.  The weather was amazing and competitors could not have asked for better surf...

read more
Southern Surf Festival 2024

Southern Surf Festival 2024

The Southern Surf Festival is set to make a splash on the Fleurieu Peninsula in South Australia on the 27th and 28th of April 2024. The two-day celebration of surfing and surf competition will take place at Middleton...

read more