Yorkes Classic 2020
Published on 23/08/2020


A three decade long annual Yorke’s tradition, this year’s event boasts a huge amounts of prizes and prestige for the 42 surfers hoping to take out the Yorke’s Classic Titles.

Since inception in 1984, The Yorke’s Classic has become the premier event on the South Australian Surfing calendar. South Australia’s best surfers will contest the annual event held within the Innes National Park on the southern tip of Yorke Peninsula. Previous winners include legends like Josh Locke, Brian Taylor, Luke Horlin-Smith, Matt Shorten, Todd Goudie,  Dion Atkinson, Teale Vanner and Max Longhurst.

Recently a junior division was added to the event to encourage young surfers to challenge themselves in the heavy surf that Yorkes has to offer. 

Winners of the Open Mens and Women’s divisions will also be crowned as Surfing SA Open State Champions for 2020

Heat Draw’s and results: https://www.surfingaustralia.com/SurfingSouthAustralia/event/Yorkes%20Classic%202020


 Max Longhurst, Clayton Howse, Khai Adams, Luke Sykora, Brett Edwards, Todd Goudie 

Young Guns 

Ruka Taite, Digby Tooze, Corey Taylor, Harry Green, Maia Taite, Imogen Elliot


Division Sponsors The Ding King (Open Men), Extreme Boardriders (Open Women) and Juniors (Shaping the Bay), Surfing South Australia as well as a host local community businesses. 


Likely to run at Chinaman’s on Saturday morning, announcements to be made on Surfing South Australia Facebook, Instagram and at the General Store with a big day scheduled kick off should be around 8am.

You may also like….

Vale Khai Cowley

Vale Khai Cowley

After the devastating news that one of our Grom surfers, Khai, was involved in a fatal incident at Ethel Beach on December 28th we have been...

read more