Woolworths Junior State Titles presented by Globe 2023 Round 1

Published on 12/02/2023

The 2023 Woolworths Junior State Titles presented by Globe kicked off at Waits Point with round 1 this weekend. 

Fun 2-foot waves were on offer off the point providing the perfect setting for grommets from across the State, who converged in great numbers on the Fleurieu Peninsula for the first round of the series. 

Poppy Sweetman (Middleton) and Indi DeBono (Middleton) took the Under 18 divisions today with impressive displays of surfing. The Under 16 Divisions went to King Cairns (Port Noarlunga) and Maia Taite (Seaford).  In the Under 14 Division it was Ashton Crowley (Port Noarlunga South) and Isla Kindstrom (Port Noarlunga South) that dominated taking the first round of the series. Seth Baillie placed first in the Under 12 Boys division.

The standout surfer of the day was King Cairns in the Under 16 boys division scoring multiple rides in the excellent range.

The three-round Junior Surfing Series caters to boys and girls with divisions for Under 14’s through to Under 18’s and forms the selection criteria for the state representatives for the 2021 Australian Junior Surfing Titles to take place in Victoria later this year. The next round will be held on the Yorke Peninsula on the 4th of March, followed by the final round on the Fleurieu Peninsula on the 25/26 March.

We want to thank our Sponsors Woolworths for the series and GLOBE Brand for their support. For more information regarding South Australian surfing events or programs be sure to log onto www.surfingsouthaustralia.com.au and follow Surfing SA’s social media platforms.

Under 18 Girls:

1. Poppy Sweetman

2. Keira Hunt

3. Meg Day

Under 18 Boys:

1. Indi DeBono

2. Leo Torok

3. Bailey Torok

4. Amos Timms

Under 16 Girls:

1. Maia Taite

2. Jemma Crowley

3. Keira Hunt

4. Chloe Harsing

Under 16 Boys:

1. King Cairns

2. Noah Keelan

3. Arley Partridge

4. Mitchell Henderson

Under 14 Grom Girls:

1. Isla Kindstrom

2. Priya Jakwhal

3. Allegra Carreti

4. Macy King

Under 14 Grom Boys:

1. Ashton Crowley

2. Rai Diaz

3. Max Disley

Under 12 Grom Boys:

1. Seth Baillie

2. Leo Wilson

2023 Woolworths South Australian Junior Surfing Titles

Round 2
Yorke Peninsula

March 4 and 5, 2023

Round 3
Fleurieu Peninsula
March 25 and 26, 2023


Other News

2024 Southern Surf Festival a Huge Success

2024 Southern Surf Festival a Huge Success

The Southern Surf Festival made a stunning return to Middleton Point at the weekend, drawing massive crowds across Saturday and Sunday.  The weather was amazing and competitors could not have asked for better surf...

read more
Southern Surf Festival 2024

Southern Surf Festival 2024

The Southern Surf Festival is set to make a splash on the Fleurieu Peninsula in South Australia on the 27th and 28th of April 2024. The two-day celebration of surfing and surf competition will take place at Middleton...

read more